Lost Love of the Millennials

Before I jump into this post, I just wanted to say hi and that you guys had a fantastic weekend and a lovely Valentine’s Day. I surprised my parents and little brother by coming home from college for the weekend, so I got to spend time with them and I concluded that they loved it. So here’s to the new week.

Being apart of this generation is hard. I was going to say that it is harder than being in any other but everyone has their struggles. I don’t know. I think that being apart of this generation as opposed to my parents, we experience so much that they can’t relate to and vice versa. I’m sure that our parents values were meant to be passed along somewhere down the line but our generation has made our own way for everything. The way we dress, the way we learn, the way we interact, the way we express ourselves. And as I witnessed over the weekend, the way we “love.” The biggest thing that I saw this weekend leading into Valentine’s Day was the fact that alot of this generation uses materialistic things to equate love. And for this, I wish that the Millennials didn’t have this lost sense of what love means.

Websters dictionary has several definitions for what love means. My favorite two are 1) unselfish, loyal and benevolent concern for the good of another and 2) affection based on admiration, benevolence, or common interests. Literally in the definition it says unselfish yet so many equate love with expecting the latest foreign shoes or the newest handbags. Furthermore, my peers are 19 turning 20. We’re still young trying to depend less and less on our parents by generating our own income. So it really isn’t realistic to depend on your significant other at this age to go super all out.

I’m not saying that if you do it, it’s wrong. I’m not even saying it’s wrong to ask for it. What I’m getting at is that there is more to love than Balmain, Givenchy, Prada, Gucci. What happened to simple gestures that went along way? What happened to handwritten notes? Going to get ice cream or simply going on walks? In my opinion, time is the most valuable thing a person can give. Flowers and a card go along way. Time goes a long way. Thoughtfulness goes a long way.

The depth of one’s pockets should not and does not equate to their depth of affection they may have for you. 

That’s all for now. Have a great first half of the week filled with positivity and progress. I’ll talk to you all on Thursday!

 

Until Next Time: Be Good, Be Safe, Drink Water and Stay Flawless

-Ke

Leave a Reply

